i can relate

my morning usually sets the tone for the whole day. so if that doesn’t go well….. well, you get the picture. although sometimes there are those redeeming moments which slip themselves in every once in a while. little gifts from a gracious Heavenly Father, which if i let them, can sort of salvage my shattered expectations. expectations which, i might add, aren’t very high these days.

but when the first words you hear from your daughter are, “for some reason the tooth fairy didn’t come last night”….if you are me, you cringe. you cringe because you have to perpetuate the little white lies. “well, what did you put the tooth in?” “the plastic glitter vial”, she says. “oh, no wonder she didn’t come. how is she supposed to manage that lid. it was probably too hard for her to open.”

so we find the little pocket i made last year sometime. it’s been that long since she last lost a tooth. and we’ll try it again tonite. i just hope those magical stars really do work. or i am so firing that tooth fairy. she has done this  too many times for my liking…..

but my softer side says maybe she’s just been busy. maybe last nite she stayed on the computer longer than she should’ve and by the time she went downstairs everyone was already asleep. it wasn’t that late. but they were all tired. she is probably already being hard on herself about the whole affair so let’s be patient and forgiving. i, for one, am willing to forgive her. this time anyway. i think i can relate just a bit.

IMG_4270

happy weekend friends. i’ll be taking a break from this spot for a few days. i’m feeling really guilty about this slight mishap. i know i am probably being too hard on myself. but i just hate being too busy to pay attention to the little things. have a blessed feast of Corpus Christi!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “i can relate

  1. I am the same type of morning person. Those few minutes I use to get myself ready for the day are really important and they’re usually the only moments I get to clear my head and organize myself mentally.

    Unfortunately, I’ve been a bit quick to get hot-headed lately. Being quick to react to interruptions never makes for a good morning. Anyway, it’s been nice to have another ‘intention’ for which I can offer up these unwanted interruptions (and my hopefully more pleasant – even if forced – attitude).

    The tooth pouch is beautiful. I found little boxes that were made for the same purpose and have given them to the kids around the age 5/6. I can attest that sometimes the tooth fairy is over-booked, too. Fortunately, my kids don’t have super high expectations. They know moms life is busy and assume the tooth fairies life must be similar!

  2. You are such a good mama! Hope all was reconciled on the tooth fairy front…

    I may have missed your explanation but why all the blog switching? You’re messing with my RSS feeds 😉 !

  3. God bless your sweet heart. I feel for you. I think many mamas out here have been in your shoes, but in their own shoes. 🙂 It’s good to take a break from the machine and refocus. I pray God gives you exactly what you need and that you allow yourself a break.
    BIG hugs to you, my friend. Email me your address? I’d love to send you snail mail from HI . . . pretty postcards and such. I know you’d love it. I love snail mail – it’s so cheery!

Leave a comment