for the mamas

IMG_4259

IMG_4255

marilyn  is having a virtual baby shower for nadja and has invited me to join in. i feel rather honored and not the slightest bit jealous of the abundance of baby girls being born to these ladies. i am going to include my friend m, pictured here with her baby belly, sitting comfy, on her sofa, while we visited the other day. we even knitted a bit. i am also showing you this picture because her project is much more “accomplished” than mine. and because i imagine that this is probably what it would be like if i were to have a visit with nadja, her baby tummy and a little knitting. so this little post is for the mamas………

for safe deliveries~

Remember O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thy intercession was left unaided. Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother. To thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of The Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in your mercy hear and answer me. ~amen

prayer after having a baby~

To You, Lord, I consecrate the body and soul of my newborn child, whom You have allowed me to bring into the world. I pray that my child may grow up in Your love, may be faithful to his/her baptismal promises, and may be a source of happiness and holiness to others.

I give thanks for the privilege of being able to cooperate in Your creative act. That I should have been chosen to provide material for this new life in the world is something so dazzling in its magnificence that I can never really give adequate thanks. Help me to show my gratitude by living up to the pattern of motherhood revealed in Mary. I pray that  You will accept the labors I suffered in bringing this infant to birth as part of the price of his  future well-being. How small a price it is-especially in view of the blessed peace I now enjoy. ~amen.

God bless you ladies. and all mothers everywhere. even the ones like me, who look at a newborn, like i did in mass today and while oohing and ahhing, can’t help but think of only one thing…….the teen age years……. so for those mamas……….

Dear God the Father, grant Your Fatherly protection to each of our children that they may be faithful to the teachings we have given them in Your grace. Let each child enter through the gate of Mary Your Immaculate daughter, that together with her prayers and intercession Your children and ours may come to peace and a true understanding of Your love. Grant that each may share your protection, and may Your aid be their strength. Preserve them from evils and misfortune, enlighten each with a fullness of love for their neighbors. And by that charity which is the greatest of virtues, may each know Your will and be free of all danger and be sanctified unto life everlasting. ~amen.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “for the mamas

  1. Thank you, Regan! For a woman living in a really rural area, in the “Pentecostal Badlands” of TN, I feel blessed to have made so many Catholic mama friends…I have quadrupled my social circle!

    Thank you and God bless you for your prayers!

  2. Lovely prayers!!!

Leave a comment